Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

In conversation with Andrés N. Ordorica

On family, grief, the queer canon and his novel – How We Named the Stars – named an Observer debut of the year for 2024
2

“I wanted nothing more than to make you happy. As you poured the tequila, I cut the limes using your knife. The sharp blade felt dangerous in my hands, as I forced myself to concentrate so as not to dismember my own thumb. You asked for the instructions because you wanted to do what was culturally appropriate. So I guided you: lick the salt, shoot the shot, bite the lime.

‘¡Arriba, abajo, al centro, pa’ dentro!’

White-silvery agave pulsed through my veins and burned behind my eyes. We bit the lime.”

Hi friends,

A wee bonus free post from me this week celebrating the UK launch of a novel I’ve just reviewed for Glasgow Review of Books. I was delighted to be able to interview Andrés last month and talk about family, grief, writing sex and the new wave of queer literature on both sides of the Atlantic. You can read the review and the edited version of our conversation here.

A bit about Andrés…

Andrés N. Ordorica (he/him) is a queer Latinx writer based in Edinburgh. Drawing on his family’s immigrant history and third culture upbringing, his writing maps the journey of diaspora and unpacks what it means to be from ni de aquí, ni de allá (neither here, nor there).

He is the author of the poetry collection At Least This I Know and novel How We Named the Stars. He has been shortlisted for the Morley Lit Prize, the Mo Siewcharran Prize and the Saltire Society’s Poetry Book of The Year. In January 2024, he was selected as one of The Observer’s 10 Best Debut Novelists.

author photo credit: Daniel McGowan

Hope you enjoy listening or watching along, and I'll be back on Sunday with a words on this summer's sounds, scents and sentences (because alliteration).

Leave a comment

Lindsay x

Discussion about this podcast

What Now? with Lindsay Johnstone
What Now? with Lindsay Johnstone – Audio and Video including every episode of Held in Mind: A Memoir
Here you'll find every episode of my memoir, Held in Mind. You'll also find video interviews with fellow creative caregivers, which forms The Cost of Caring Series, and occasional video and audio on the big (and small) stuff of midlife.
Looking JUST for Held in Mind? Head to the dedicated post on my Homepage.